African Economic Research Consortium evaluates UoN School of Economics
Printer-friendly versionPDF version
Date and time: 
Mon, 2016-03-21 17:33

AERC evaluates UoN School of Economics

A team from the African Economic Research Consortium, AERC, the body that funds collaborative PhD and Masters programs sent a team of advisory board members to evaluate the School of Economics and gauge its readiness to be a host-degree awarding University.  The consultative meeting was held at the Council Committee Room, today, Monday, March, 21, 2016.

African Economic Research Consortium facilitates curriculum development and joint enforcement of standards. As the enforcing agency, AERC is responsible for all resource mobilization, grant and contractual arrangements for the collaborators.

Speaking during the courtesy call, Prof. Henry Mutoro, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic Affairs, who represented the Vice-Chancellor, Prof.  Peter Mbithi, welcomed the team to the University and expressed his optimism that the School of Economics will soon be a host-degree awarding university.

AERC is made up of several universities from the African region. Member Universities are drawn from West Africa, South Africa, Central and East African region bringing the total to 28 universities.

African Economic Research Consortium is a public not-for profit organization dedicated to advanced economic policy research and training. With a mission to strengthen local capacity for conducting independent, rigorous research into the problems facing the management of economies in sub-Saharan Africa, the AERC  will change the economic landscape of the African continent.

AERC is responsible for resource mobilization, grant and contractual arrangements for the collaborators.

The University of Nairobi was recognized and appreciated for playing a big role and hosting the majority of students from the network.

The courtesy call was attended by Prof. Peter K’Obonyo, Deputy Principal College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Prof. Lydia Njenga, Director, Board of Post Graduate Studies and representative from School of Economics.


Expiry Date: 
Fri, 2017-03-31 17:33