The University of Nairobi Alumni Association held its 1st Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday, 10th April 2016 at 10.00a.m.
Printer-friendly versionPDF version
Date and time: 
Tue, 2016-04-12 14:55


The occasion was graced by the Chancellor of the University of Nairobi, Dr. (Mrs.) Vijoo Rattansi, and Chairman of the University Council, Dr. Idle Farah and the Vice Chancellor, Professor Peter M.F. Mbithi.
New officials were duly elected into office to take the Association to the next level.  The new officials include;
1.    Chairman,            -    Mr. Isaac Awuondo, Group CEO of Commercial Bank of Africa (CBA Group)
2.    Vice-Chairman    -    Dr. Anne Assey, Senior Lecturer at the  University of Nairobi
3.    Secretary            -    PLO Lumumba, Director/CEO of Kenya School of Law
4.    Organizing Secretary    -    Barack Muluka, Media Consultant and  Editor
5.    Treasurer            -    Mildred Owour, Board member of  K-Rep Bank and former Electoral Commissioner

The association has been in existence for the last 11 years since 2005 and has managed to achieve the following:
1.    Providing Scholarships to needy students
2.    Supporting University during major events such as Graduation ceremony
3.    Establishment of a permanent secretariat with a Management Team
4.    Undertaking CSR activities  
5.    Development of the Alumni Information Management System (AIMS)

Plans for the Future
1.    To complete the Alumni Centre for Alumni to network and Interact with the University
2.    Establishment of the endowment fund for university sustainability
3.    Enhance the scholarship fund to be able to help more needy students

The Vice Chancellor Prof. Peter M.F. Mbithi has congratulated the new Office
Bearers.  He has promised to give them his full support and work with them to achieve the dream of transforming the university into a World Class University.


Expiry Date: 
Sat, 2017-04-29 14:55